Forest Stewardship Council


The Forest Stewardship Council sets standards for responsible forest management. A voluntary program, FSC uses the power of the marketplace to protect forests for future generations. FSC's mission is to promote environmentally sound, socially beneficial and economically prosperous management of the world's forests. To achieve its mission and vision, FSC has developed a set of 10 principles and 57 Criteria that apply to FSC-certified forests around the world. The Principles include the following:

  • Principle #1: Compliance with Laws and FSC Principles
  • Principle #2: Tenure and Use Rights and Responsibilities
  • Principle #3: Indigenous Peoples' Rights
  • Principle #4: Community Relations and Workers' Rights
  • Principle #5: Benefits from the Forest
  • Principle #6: Environmental Impact
  • Principle #7: Management Plan
  • Principle #8: Monitoring and Assessment
  • Principle #9: Maintenance of High Conservation Value Forests
  • Principle #10: Plantations